New OHS Standard


New OHS Standard


As part of a trend to align with international best practice Standards Australia has released a new combined Australian, New Zealand and international standard on occupational health and safety.

The standard is entitled AS/NZS ISO 45,001: 2018 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems – Requirements with Guidance for Use.

This document outlines the scope and high-level content expected for a compliant safety management system.

The standard warns that success of an OHS management system is dependent upon a number of factors including:

  • Top management leadership and support
  • Effective consultation and communication
  • Necessary policies and procedures
  • Process to identify work injury risks
  • Integration of the OHS system into the organisation’s business processes
  • Continual monitoring and improvement
  • OHS objectives aligned to business needs and
  • Resources necessary to implement

The Plan-Do-Check-Act (PDCA) cycle, made famous by Toyota world-wide, forms part of the process.

The main elements of the ISO 45001 OHS management system include:

1)    Context e.g. organizational needs, structure and expectations

2)    Leadership and worker participation

3)    Planning

4)    Support

5)    Operation

6)    Performance evaluation

7)  Improvement

Have a question? Call us:

+61 (03) 8544 4300

Safety Action is the preferred provider of workplace safety and business risk solutions for progressive companies throughout Australasia.

Send us an enquiry now »